Waiting for dinner

20120911-212719.jpg

As a child I used to sit in the kitchen and watch my mother cook. She was meticulous; taking her time to ensure she followed the recipe while also adding her own flair. The spices seasoned the air and greatly increased my anticipation for what she was preparing. I would become so full of excitement and impatience that I literally would have hunger pains! (I’ve always been a bit dramatic)
This annoyed my mother and she would make me leave the kitchen until dinner was served, which only seemed to make the wait longer. I can laugh at it now but that used to make me so upset. After a few times of this I came to realize the awesome power of snacks!

For the past two months I have been feeling like that little girl waiting for dinner. Each day becoming more and more excited for the meal to be served. Two weeks ago I would have been on the road to Chicago, but I was delayed or better yet, I gained an extended stay…at least two or three more weeks. I was disappointed but I also knew it wasn’t time for me to leave.

“Be of good courage, and he shall strengthen your heart, all you that hope in the LORD.” Psalm 31:24

Take your eyes off the clock…
The disappointment disappeared quickly as I was reminded of a principle. With the extended stay, more has been added to my life surpassing even my highest expectations! I call it the Ephesians 3:20 blessing. Can you imagine what we miss out on when we’re anxious? I suppose that’s why we’re told to pursue peace. Patience can make the difference between good, better, and best. It takes courage to be patient. And with your courage you need to take action; feed your faith by devouring the Word until you see His promises come to pass. Similar to me snacking before dinner. Remember, God always wants to position you to receive the most favorable outcome. He will never leave you behind or move ahead of you.

Find joy in hope…
Hope sustains, prospers, comforts, and strengthens your heart. Hope enables you to overcome the challenges on the journey. The meal I’m waiting for hasn’t been served, but I’m feeding my hunger until the plate is on the table.

“O taste and see that the LORD is good: blessed is the man that trusts in him.”Psalm 24:8

Leave a Reply

